Otago Chess Club

The Otago Chess Club

7 Maitland Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
New Zealand's oldest incorporated society

The club would like to acknowledge the support of the following organisations...

Otago Chess Club
Otago Chess Club

The Community Trust of Otago
The Community Trust of Otago

Lion Foundation
The Lion Foundation

Dunedin City Council
Dunedin City Council

World Champions Wall

Otago Daily Times
Otago Daily Times

Bendigo Valley
Bendigo Valley


***Covid Level Two: the club will be open this week with additional precautions: disinfecting hands, spacing out the games to one per table and wearing masks is desirable, so bring a mask if you can. If you are unwell, please stay at home.*** The next event is the start of the first leg of the club championship on 3 March - see the 2021 Calendar. If you can't make it on the 3rd, you can still enter the tournament by emailing otagochess@gmail.com before Wednesday evening.

The Otago Autumn Rapid Open is taking place on Sunday 7 March and is NZCF rated this year, which entails an increase of the entry fee to $15 - see the Tournaments for details and entry forms.

The Monday Chess Group (MCG) is continuing over the break on Lichess - Join the Otago Chess Club Team and you can enter the next event starting Mondays at 7:30pm

The Allan Chang Memorial was held on 24 February, with a free-for-all approach to pairings given the hourglass time limit. Alf Loretan achived the greatest number of games (5), while Ben Suazo the most points (3½). The trophy goes to the greatest upset result based on club ratings and with so many new players amount the 24 contestants required some working out - it was Noah Oseki for his win over Hamish Gold - See News.

The Perpetual Handicap for 2021.

The AGM was held on 10 February, and Bob Clarkson stood down as President to be replaced by Geoff Aimers. Subs for 2021 remained the same as 2020 (see About Us for details) and are now due. You can pay them online directly to the Westpac Otago Chess Club bank account: 03-0905-0169820-00 (be sure to mention your name in the reference field!) - See News.

The first Blitz tournament for the 2021 Blair Freeman trophy took place on 3 February. Ben Suazo scored 5½/6 to take out the event ahead of Quentin Johnson and Romero Suggate on 5 - See News.

The opening event for 2021 was the tradition President vs Vice resident match on 27 January. This year Geaoff Aimers VP team triumphed 7-3 over Bob Clarkson's President's team - See News

The NZCF December 2020 ratings are out. The full lists can be downloaded from NZCF Resources

The catalogue of the Club's library of over 600 items is available - see Library

For links to other chess sites including free chess training resources, visit the favourite links page of the club wiki.

The Otago Chess Club meets on Wednesday evenings, 7:30pm at 7 Maitland Street, Dunedin as well as for social play on Tuesday afternoons from 1pm
Email otagochess@gmail.com for more information

The Dunedin Junior Chess Academy ended for term 4 on Friday 4 October and starts for term 1 on Friday 12 February 2021.
Email dnjrchess@yahoo.co.nz for inquiries

Invercargill has a chess club looking for new members.
Contact Gary McLean, phone (03) 216 7990, email mcleangj@slingshot.co.nz.

Wanaka has a small chess club looking for new members. Meets twice a week.
Contact John Garrett, email johngarrett@xtra.co.nz

Tournaments Tournaments

News News

Otago Chess Club About Us

Otago Chess Club Wiki ArchiveWiki Archive

Otago Chess Club Library CatalogueLibrary

This site was last updated on 1 March 2021