Otago Chess Club

The Otago Chess Club

7 Maitland Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
New Zealand's oldest incorporated society

The club would like to acknowledge the support of the following organisations...

Otago Chess Club
Otago Chess Club

The Community Trust of Otago
The Community Trust of Otago

Lion Foundation
The Lion Foundation

Dunedin City Council
Dunedin City Council

World Champions Wall

Otago Daily Times
Otago Daily Times

Bendigo Valley
Bendigo Valley


The Otago School Teams Chess Champs are taking place in June and open for entries - See Tournaments for details and entry form
View entries to date

The Otago Secondary School Teams Chess Champs were held at Logan Park High School on 15 June. OBHS A defended the trophy on 7/7 with John McGlashan A 2nd on 6 and Logan Park A 3rd on 5 points.
View crosstable and Full scoretable with individual scores

The current tournament on the Calendar is the Cleland Trophy on 5 June.
View scores to date

The Otago Winter Rapid Open on Sunday 9th June was won by Ben Suazo with second shared by David Weegenaar, Juni Aguitar and Atlas Kerr. View crosstable

The Swiss Rapid ended in a tie between Benedict Suazo and Quentin Johnson on 3½/4 - View final scores.

The inaugural Graham Haase Memorial ended in a three-way tie for first between Edward Sarfas, new member Benedict Suazo and returning member Rily Jellyman on 4/5 - See News

The Perpetual Handicap for 2019. The leaders in the Rapid are Alf Loretan on +48, followed by Benedict Suazo on +40, with Max Lough on +30. In the Standard the leader is Benedict Suazo on +101, followed by Edward Sarfas on +35, with Riley Jellyman on +28.

The NZCF March 2019 ratings are out. The full lists can be downloaded from NZCF Resources

The first leg of the club championship is complete with Edward Sarfas taking out the Grade on 5/5 and new member Benedict Suazo winning the combined B & C Grades with 4/4 after missing the first round - See News

The catalogue of the Club's library of over 600 items is available - see Library

For links to other chess sites including free chess training resources, visit the favourite links page of the club wiki.

The Otago Chess Club meets on Wednesday evenings, 7:30pm at 7 Maitland Street, Dunedin as well as for social play on Tuesday afternoons from 1pm
Email otagochess@gmail.com for more information

The Dunedin Junior Chess Academy started again for term 2 on Friday 3 May and finishes on Friday 28 June.
Email dnjrchess@yahoo.co.nz for inquiries

Invercargill has a chess club looking for new members.
Contact Gary McLean, phone (03) 216 7990, email mcleangj@slingshot.co.nz.

Wanaka has a small chess club looking for new members. Meets twice a week.
Contact John Garrett, email johngarrett@xtra.co.nz

Tournaments Tournaments

News News

Otago Chess Club About Us

Otago Chess Club Wiki ArchiveWiki Archive

Otago Chess Club Library CatalogueLibrary

This site was last updated on 16 June 2019