Latest News

Watch this space for up-to-date news of chess events from the Otago region.

Club Championship – 11 April

After the first leg of the 2019 Club Championship, Edward Sarfas leads the A grade on 5/5 after upsetting top seed Hamish Gold and second seed Geoff Aimers. Gold is a point behind having won all his other games, while Geoff Aimers is next on 3. In a clear division between the top and bottom of the grade, Terry Duffield, Max Lough and Shoji Fukushima all finished on 1 point, having each lost to the top three and then won a game off one of the other two.

The B & C grade was convincing won by new member Benedict Suazo, who missed the first round, then scored 4/4. Suazo earns promotion to the A Grade for the second leg. Bob Clarkson finished second on 3½/5, losing only to Suazo and drawing with top seed Brent Southgate. David Reid finished third on 3 points, while there was a big tie on 2½ between Hildon Nisa, Alf Loretan, Ryan High and new member Lindsay Dowden. John Armstrong was next on 2 points, while Southgate found the going tough, losing three games to finish on 1½, followed by Noah Oseki on 1 point.

The rules mean that each grade starts with a base score and/or a scaling factor, to allow performances to be roughly compared between grades, based on the average rating of the field in each grade. That allows players in different grades to compete for the same trophy on fair terms. The Championship totals in the link below show the effect of these adjustments.

View all crosstables
View A-Grade crosstable and rating performances
View B&C-Grade crosstable and rating performances

Autumn Rapid Open – 10 March

The Autumn Seasonal Rapid went off very well with numbers down from previous tournaments but possibly due to the change in day to Sunday. Also I didn’t get the time to contact the Invercargill club who would probably have been very interested but will make sure they know for the Winter Rapid and we also have more time to advertise.

So we had 14 players in all whose rating ranged from 1800 down to 700 and 5 rounds played. We classed then into two areas the first top down to 1300 and 2nd under 1200 with prizes in both categories.

Rnd. 1 - was played with no surprises apart from Hamish Gold drawing with Romero Suggate and this cost Hamish a placing by the time the tournament was over. The other notable game was Riley Jellyman playing black against Hilden Nisa which was drawn out to 52 moves with a rook and pawns each but Riley was able to capitalise on pawn placement to win.

Rnd. 2- The upset here was Shoji Fukushima with white beat Edward Sarfas and Edward struggled to regain the loss of tempo for the tournament. (Note that Edward was also working the draws whilst playing which I think does have a bearing on play)

Rnd. 3- Again Riley won as black against Edward Sarfas in a very short game of 25 moves. The other notable game was Oscar Lobb white beat Shoji Fukushima.

Rnd. 4- Bob Clarkson had a close run game with white against Nasser Tamimi where fortunes changed in quick succession and Bob going to a piece down then equalising to go down a piece again and equalising again to finally end up with pawns and the likelihood of Naser promoting but Bob ran out of time in the end.

Rnd. 5- Shoji with Black beat Hamish Gold, and Oscar Lobb beat Bob Clarkson which put losing players out of contention for prize money.

So final results and prize distribution is as follows:
1st – Riley Jellyman
2nd - Jinge Li
U 1200
1st = Oscar Lobb / Noah Oseki
2nd = Romero Suggate / Hildon Nisa

The next rapid open is the Winter Rapid on Sunday 9 June.

View Crosstable

Allan Chang Memorial – 27 February

The Allan Chang 10 minute hourglass tournament was truncated to three rounds this year to make room for the Graham Haase memorial tournament. The justification at teh AGM was that the winner of the Chang trophy was almost always decided in teh first round, as that was when the biggest upset usually occurred and the rest of the event was something of an anticlimax. This prediction was borne out in 2019 with Alf Loretan securing the trophy via his first round win over Brent Southgate. Although there were other upsets, none came close to this.

View Crosstable and Rating performances

2019 Otago chess club AGM – 13 February

Bob Clarkson stayed on a President for another year, as did Max Lough as Treasuer. Leighton Nicholls stood down as Secretary after several years of excellent service and was replaced by Brent Southgate. Geoff Aimers took over as Vice President from Brent. Subscriptions remained the same as 2018. The 2019 committee comprises:

President: Bob Clarkson; Vice President: Geoff Aimers; Secretary: Brent Southgate; Treasurer: Max Lough; Director of Junior Play: Quentin Johnson; Past-President: N/A; Committee members: Terry Duffield, Edward Sarfas, Shoji Fukushima and Alf Loretan; Auditor: Bob Glass; Patron: Bob Glass.

The Calendar for 2019 was altered to shorten the Allan Chang Memorial to three rounds to make room for a new Graham Haase memorial of five rounds. The 1st leg of the Club Championship was brought forward into the gap. The Seasonal Rapids were moved to Sundays this year for convenience of ensuring the could be run. Bob Clarkson, Max Lough and Edward Sarfas have undertaken to direct them.

Quentin Johnson was elected a Life Member of the club for his services to the club as Treasurer and Junior Development Officer.